• The NPC is the highest organ of state power in China. It is composed of NPC deputies who are elected from 35 electoral units, according to the legal standards. These units include people’s congresses in provinces, autonomous regions, and municipalities directly under the central government, the congress of the People’s Liberation Army, the deputy election council of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, the deputy election council of the Macao Special Administrative Region and the Taiwan compatriots’ consultation election council.



NPC Standing Committee

  • The NPC Standing Committee is composed of a chairperson, several vice-chairpersons, the secretary-general and other members. They are all elected by the NPC from its deputies for a five- year term, which is consistent with the length of congressional sessions



Council of Chairpersons:

  • The chairperson of the NPC Standing Committee directs the work of the Standing Committee. The vice-chairpersons and the secretary-general assist the chairperson in his or her work. The chairperson, vice-chairpersons and secretary-general constitute the Council of Chairpersons, which handles the important day-to-day work of the Standing Committee.


Relationship with CPC [The Communist Party of China]

  •  The CPC established the people’s congresses, a system of multiparty cooperation and political consultation led by the CPC, the system of regional ethnic autonomy and self-management among the people at the grassroots level, which are compatible with China’s national conditions and state system. This format the basic framework of China’s political system.






Organizational Structure:(list all the organizations)  

Standing Committee of the NPC 全国人民代表大会常务委员会

Working and Administrative Bodies of the Standing Committee 工作机构和办事机构

  • General Office 办公厅
  • Legislative Affairs Commission 法制工作委员会
  • Budgetary Affairs Commission 预算工作委员会
  • Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Basic Law Committee 香港特别行政区基本法委员会
  • Macao Special Administrative Region Basic Law Committee 澳门特别行政区基本法委员会

Special Committees 专门委员会

  • The Ethnic Affairs Committee 民族委员会
  • The Constitution and Law Committee 宪法和法律委员会
  • The Supervisory and Judicial Affairs Committee 监察和司法委员会
  • The Financial and Economic Affairs Committee 财政经济委员会
  • The Education, Science, Culture and Public Health Committee 教育科学文化卫生委员会
  • The Foreign Affairs Committee 外事委员会
  • The Overseas Chinese Affairs Committee 华侨委员会
  • The Environmental Protection and Resources Conservation Committee 环境与资源保护委员会
  • The Agriculture and Rural Affairs Committee 农业与农村委员会
  • The Social Development Affairs Committee 社会建设委员会


Contact Information